Skip to content

Sunday dinnertime conversation

August 1, 2010

Peggy Orenstein has a great piece in today’s New York Times, “I Tweet, Therefore I Am.” It’s not wholly original – the question has been asked a number of times, by a number of people since we’ve embarked into this brave new social media world. But, if you haven’t paused to ask the question recently, it’s worth considering – how much does social media shape my consciousness or my reaction to the world I live in? Am I at risk of creating a public persona or living life as performance rather than truly, independently experiencing and assessing my world for myself?

Orenstein asks the question well, and perfectly for a Sunday afternoon read. Check it out, talk about it with your spouse or a friend, and let me know what you think in the comments section.

Caravaggio - Narcissus

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

