Skip to content

Valour IT competition begins – support team Army!

October 28, 2010

One of my favorite things about working for the Army was getting to know the amazing military blogging community. When I left my position one of my saddest thoughts was losing touch with the community who had embraced me so well when I was the Army’s social media maven. Fortunately for me, they’re a great group, willing to keep in touch with a private PR flak even now that I’m no longer giving them access to Army generals and responding to their after-hours queries.

And a great thing about being independent is the increased ability to rally behind this community and be a part of something that they do best – providing support for service members and wounded warriors who need it. I’m thrilled to be throwing my support behind this year’s Project Valour IT competition, and there is no better team to be working for than Team Army!

I first heard of Valour IT not too long after the project arrived on the net. I’ve since gotten to know Maj. Chuck Ziegenfuss and several Soldiers who have personally benefited from the gift of wounded warrior modified laptops, helping to give them back their independence and ability to connect with friends, family, and fellow service members at a time when they need it most.

There are a lot of projects out there designed to help service members and wounded warriors. But few that touch those of us in the IT or social media communities so closely. This truly is a niche to rally behind and a real need that Valour IT is solving in a special and important way.

Read the details here at Blackfive, visit this link to donate and help me spread the word in the coming weeks! This is a chance for all those who love and support the Army to engage in some great, friendly competition with our fellow and lesser military branches. You should need no other motivation than hearing that the Marines beat the Army last year – we can’t stand by and let that happen again. I hope you’ll join me in supporting this cause!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

