Skip to content

My name is Lindy…

February 22, 2011

…and I admit it – I watched The Bachelor last night. Not even a whole episode, just the last 30 minutes. I’m not entirely sure why I did it. I suppose it was because my husband was out of town and I had the remote to myself. And it seems to be the trendy thing to watch for females in my age demographic. And quite frankly there is so little on TV of any merit that if I wanted to watch anything last night at 8:30 PM, that was it. 

The premise of a dozen women chasing after one man is pretty off-putting for me. And I had a hard time taking the woman who got the boot on last night’s show seriously as she described how she’d been treated “like a princess.” Really? How many princesses you know spend weeks auditioning and competing for their prince charming (I thought it was supposed to be the other way around).

I suppose what really bothered me about last night’s show was the fact that the bachelor had the opportunity to meet all of his ladies’ families. And each family seemed to wholeheartedly support the notion that their daughter might actually consider a serious relationship with a man they met on a television show, while he was courting an entire house of women.

My family was in town this weekend and they’re always a reminder of what a blessing it is to be a part of a loving, nurturing family. But a part of that loving is also honesty – as most daughters can attest no one tells you what you need to hear better than your mom. I count on my family for advice and feedback. Regardless of whether or not you’re close with your family we all need individuals we can count on to give us honest assessments. It’s called accountability and it’s often a lost commodity in today’s touchy-feely-don’t-harm-my-self-esteem culture.

Whether it’s business or the home a lot of mistakes could be avoided if we took the wise counsel of trusted agents a bit more often. Good decisions (or governments) are not created within a vacuum. If we can’t count on the friends and relatives around us to provide good counsel it’s time to step outside of our inner circle and find someone who will.

Maybe good counsel wouldn’t save this last bit of bachelorette’s any heartache. And perhaps their families (and the ladies themselves) are just a part of some great reality TV acting and we won’t really know what they think until the season concludes. But I would have much preferred to have seen a bit more skepticism and concern – that’s what good family, and good counsel, is for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

